Waiting or Living?

My students often tell me that they don’t know what they will do when they finish school. That they don’t know what God wants them to do and that they wish they knew everything. They seem to believe that school is like a preparatory phase before you begin to “live”. They also worry so much about the future. They worry that they will not have a good job when they finish school. They worry that they will not have good enough grades or enough money to have further education. They worry that they will not have enough money to get married or to take care of their parents and family.

I’ve often heard it said (and have said it to myself before) that “I am waiting for God to show me His plan for my life.”

waiting room signNow don’t get me wrong, I believe that God does have a plan for everyone’s life. It’s just that I seem to feel when I used to say that, that my life is on ‘hold’ or something until God shows up and tells me His plan for me.

When does your life begin?

Does it begin when you graduate school or university? Does it begin when you get married? Does it begin when you buy your first house? Does it begin when you become a missionary?

Some people have asked me what I will do when I finish serving in Cambodia? Like this is just something I do to fill in time until I get back to my real life of getting a degree or getting married and settling down.

So when does your life begin?

For me, life began when I accepted Jesus as my Savior. It began when I accepted His will for my life – even though I had no idea what His will was and it took a bit of convincing on His part for me to follow His will.

But what is His will for you and I? What is His plan for your life and mine?

Some times we worry so much about the future that we forget to live TODAY.

The Bible tells us in Matthew 6:25-34 that we should not worry about our future, only about today. Why should we worry about today? Because this is all that has been given us. And I believe that God’s plan for our lives is to live to glorify Him right where He has put us today. To be faithful in the duties He has given us today. To glorify Him in all the things He has given us to do. Today.

For some that may be in the family home – be the best brother, sister, mother, father, daughter, son, uncle, aunt, cousin etc that you can be – to glorify God.

For others that may mean being the best student, teacher, doctor, checkout assistant, road sweeper, preacher, friend, or even an overseas missionary that you can be so that God is glorified in and by your life. So that others are pointed to our Lord and Savior.

Wherever you are today is right where you can live out God’s plan for your life.

Yes God might have Summer-2013-Last-Sunset-Hd-Wallpapermore in store for you, but it will come at the right time… if you are living His plan for you TODAY.

At the end of each day I want to be able to say that I was faithful in the tasks that God laid before me today. I want to be able to know that my students saw Jesus in me today, and that they were drawn a little bit closer to Him. I don’t always get it right. I’m not always faithful. Sometimes I spend to much time thinking and dreaming about the future that I forget to live today. I’m thankful that on this journey of life God is always willing to help us get back on track, that He is forgiving and full of mercy.

Why is it so important to live for today?

This journey, this living of today, is what prepares us to live for Him tomorrow, to do the next thing He has for us, but ultimately this journey prepares us to live for eternity with Him.

And that is His ultimate will for us.

 

 

Leave a Reply

