I Want to be Blind

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” ~ Proverbs 3:5,6 ~

Ace ¿One afternoon, not long before I left Australia to come to Cambodia, I went out to spend some time with Ace, my beautiful horse. I was riding around having a good time when I decided to try something different, and see how Ace would respond.

I took my jacket and tied it over his eyes, effectively blinding him. I let him consider this development for a minute and then I climbed back on his back and asked him to walk forward. He hesitated and I wondered if he was going to refuse and just stand there, or if he would explode or something. But then he began to walk forward.

I walked him around and turned him in circles and he went willingly. So then I asked him to trot. And trot he did. So then I asked him to canter. He was unsure but he went for it and we cantered. He would go where I told him to go and do what I asked him to do.

I was rather surprised. Ace couldn’t see a thing, and yet he was walking, trotting and cantering and not with me leading him, but with me riding him! I felt so honored by his trust in me.

AceLater on I read about horses that go blind and how for many of them it signals then end of much of their movement. They are afraid to walk forward because, obviously, they can’t see. Sometimes they will walk around, but they are only comfortable if they stay in one place that they know where everything is. Often their days of running and being useful are over. I then learned about some blind horses that are still being ridden. Because of the trust they have in their riders, they get their wings back, they can run again.

I think I’d like to be like a blind horse that has implicit trust in its rider.

What do I mean?

When I rode Ace normally, often he would try to anticipate what I would ask him to do and where I wanted him to go, and many times he was wrong.

AceI’m the same, I try to guess what God wants me to do and where He wants me to go and I charge off, full steam ahead only to get pulled up short as I make one blunder after another.

If I could be “blind” and trust God to guide me down the right path, then I could go forward without fear. I would listen more to God and do what He asks when He asks it and keep doing that until He asked for something more. And one day when He asks me to run forward and I would be able to do so confidently.

God is trustworthy. He will always lead us right.

I want to stop depending on myself and what I can see and feel, which are so often misleading, and depend only on my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

“The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.” ~ Psalm 18:2 ~

AceAce

* Pic spam of Ace because he is gorgeous and I love him 🙂 *

Leave a Reply

