Goodbyes

I really dislike saying goodbye.

Today, Ravy, my grade 10 student and long-time friend, has decided that it was time to leave school and step out into the big world on his own. Ravy is one of our older dorm students, around 23 or 24 years of age, so I understand his restlessness. I have been encouraged this year by the spiritual growth that we have seen in him, and I believe that God will continue to use Ravy wherever he goes.

Ravy

Ravy has been here for 5 or so years. He was one of the first students that I met the first time I came to Wat Preah Yesu. I have always had a good relationship with him and he was always supportive during hard times. I will miss him greatly, but I pray that he will allow God to use him back in his village to be a witness to his family and all those around him. He has taken with him much literature to give away – his own idea, as this is something he does quite frequently. His homeland is not too far away, and he will be back in Siem Reap on occasion, so I’m glad that he isn’t gone for good like most of the other students who have left. I’m also glad that he took the time to say goodbye, because as hard as that is, it is better than just disappearing.

Ravy standing at the back with some of the choir from last year

Ravy standing at the back with some of the choir from last year

I’m glad that although people become separated from God, that He is always with us no matter where we go, and that even if we seem to be all alone, He is still here with us.

“Whither shall I go from thy spirit? or whither shall I flee from thy presence? If I ascend up into heaven, thou art there: if I make my bed in hell, behold, thou art there. If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea; Even there shall thy hand lead me, and thy right hand shall hold me. If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.” ~ Psalm 139:7-14 ~

Please pray for Ravy, for his family, and that he will continue to walk in the truth that he has found. He told me that he hopes to start a church in his village, as there is no church there. I know that things in this life always change and that change is necessary for growth but that doesn’t mean it is always pleasant. I find peace knowing that my God is big enough to take care of all those who leave here and that He will always love them and work in their hearts. I look forward to the day that we will never have to say goodbye ever again.

Ravy - photo courtesy of Till

Ravy – photo courtesy of Till

Kite flying is the “in” thing here at the moment. All my spare plastic bags were commandeered and used to make varying sized kites. The students spend ages running back and forth to make the kites fly. Some of the older kids made bigger kites and they have the skills to get the kites up in the air. This afternoon, Van, from grade 11, put a kite up above the school. He anchored the string to one of the sprinklers and as far as I’m aware the kite is still flying up there. It’s barely visible it’s so high. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a kite that small fly that high. Here’s the pictures, the same picture, but in the second I have circled where the kite is in the picture.

KiteKiteWell, life goes on and it’s time for work-line. May God bless you all, and remember to tell those whom you care about that you love and appreciate them – while they are still with you.

Leave a Reply

