Take My Hand

When I was much younger I went with my family to visit Giants Cave. It is an impressive cave but all I remember are the steps.

“Why?” You may ask… Well as we began walking down the entry steps, I decided that I could do it on my own and I refused to hold my father’s hand. Literally just a couple of steps later I found myself falling head over heals down those stairs. My parents freaked out and were sure that I would hit the big stones at the bottom of the stairs and end up quite hurt.

A meter or so before the bottom of the steps I suddenly found myself holding one of the steps. I wasn’t hurt – I do believe my guardian angel kept me on the stairs and made me grab that step.

I’m finding I’m still falling down stairs today.. not literal ones. But we’re all on an upward journey back into a face to face relationship with God. And every time I think I can do it myself and I let go of God’s hand I fall down again. I’m glad that God can still forgive me, help me back to my feet, take my hand and lead me on again.

I pray that each day we will all remember to hold tight to the hand of God.

“Fear thou not, for I am with thee; be not dismayed, for I am thy God; I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” ~ Isaiah 41:10 ~

Giant's Cave's Steps

Leave a Reply

