Eight Days in Australia

“And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left.” ~ Isaiah 30:21 ~

Laura and I went to Australia during the recent school holidays. It was great that she was able to come with me. It was exciting to show her where I come from, and for her to meet my family – was also nice that I didn’t have to travel alone. God blessed us with being able to meet and talk with different people on our plane trips. I had a wonderful chat with a lady from Spain and we covered many important topics.

The weather was cool… well.. I found it quite cold, but Laura enjoyed it :). We spent time with my family, and saw a little bit of Southwest WA. It was good to see my Mum and Ray and my brother and sister. I got to visit my horse in his new home, and meet his new owners – they are lovely and I couldn’t have sold him to anyone better.

We were also able to spend a short time at Big Camp – The state SDA church camp for the year. We attended the Big Tent meetings and hung out at the Adventist Book Center.

The speakers for Big Tent were Jerry and Jannet Page (You can find some of their sermons on Audio Verse.) Their message was about prayer and I was inspired and challenged by what they shared.

They began by talking about the signs of the end of the world as mentioned in Matthew 24; pointing out that only the last sign remains unfulfilled. What is the last sign?

“And this gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in all the world for a witness unto all nations; and then shall the end come.” ~ Matthew 24:14 ~

Then they talked about how we can make this happen. It was pointed out that we study the Bible a lot and we know and understand much of the beautiful truths and doctrines that are in it; and that to some extent we are sending out laborers into the field, but that they have been convicted that the secret to getting the Gospel to everyone is by the power of the Holy Spirit given in answer to earnest prayer, and that we aren’t doing enough of that.

They then followed this up in subsequent meetings by giving many testimonies about the power of prayer and many different tools to help aid our individual and group prayer ministries. Things like keeping prayer journals, claiming Scripture promises and actually placing your hand on the promise while praying, and also the importance of prayer partners/small groups. I am excited to consider the future here at WPY as I put into practice the things I learnt. I hope we will all get excited about prayer and encourage one another to pray…. Just imagine what God will do when His people really pray!

I was very convicted. God has been at me for a while about the importance of prayer and I had been trying to make extra time to pray. I was so glad to attend these meetings, obtain some tools, and have my convictions confirmed. I hadn’t actually been planning to come to Australia at this time, but I felt that God was telling me that I should go. I can see now that I was meant to go. Things were different this time and I do believe that He wanted me to hear those meetings.

We weren’t able to attend all of camp because we had to be back in Cambodia to teach. So at midnight on Saturday we flew out of Perth for Siem Reap. It was hard to say goodbye and leave my mum at the airport alone. For the record, Singapore is a GREAT airport! It felt very safe and was easy to negotiate around, and while just hanging around in any airport for 8 or so hours is never fun, I’m glad it was at that airport. Laura especially liked the orchid gardens that they have in there.

We arrived back on Sunday afternoon and we were pleasantly surprised to have a welcoming committee waiting there to take us home. Caleb, Ely, Emily, Donna and Francis had come to welcome us home. It was so good to be back!
Later we swapped holiday stories and found out that most of them had also had experiences where they felt convicted that God was calling them to a deeper prayer life. More confirmation! And it is so exciting that we are on the same page, and united about this!

I really believe that Jesus is coming back soon. I want to be used by God to get this world ready to meet Him. May that be your desire too.

“If My people, which are called by My name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” ~ 2 Chronicles 7:14 ~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

