The Narrow Way Dream

“Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” ~ Matthew 7:14 ~

I was going through Ellen White’s The Narrow Way Dream with my Grade 10 Bible class. We had a discussion on it, trying to help them understand what it meant and how it applies to their lives.

One of the questions I asked was, “Where do you think you are on this journey?”

Some of my students hadn’t really thought it out. Some said they didn’t know, some had made valiant effort, but one, had done really well. I don’t know if it was just because he wanted to get good marks, but I hope it was more than that, but he was the one who gave me the most thought-out answer.

He said that he believed that he was at the point where they left the horses. Then he explained that in his journey to follow Jesus, he had changed a lot. That by God’s grace he had given up some things to follow Jesus and that he wanted to keep on this journey. He said that he recognized that he hadn’t yet made a full surrender of his life, and that there were still some things that he was holding on to that God was asking him to give up.

I think he was maybe the only one who actually understood the vision fully. I was glad to see him thinking it out. I have known these 10 grade students since they were small seventh graders. It has been wonderful to watch them grow into fine young men and women.

As I listened to him answer my question, I found myself thinking about where I am in this journey back to God, and I want to ask you the same question:

Where are you on the Narrow Way Journey?

Grade 10

Grade 10 with Caleb

Leave a Reply

