We Can’t Humble Ourselves

“Now thanks be unto God, which always causes us to triumph in Christ, and makes manifest the fragrance of His knowledge by us in every place.” ~ 2 Corinthians 2:14 ~

17750357

Yesterday I went with my host family to the Bordoville Seventh Day Adventist Church at Enosburg Falls. It was their 151st anniversary, and their pastor was being ordained in the afternoon. The Bordoville Church is one of the oldest Seventh Day Adventist Church built by Adventists in North America. I enjoyed the day very much, especially the preaching by Professor Philip Samaan from Southern Adventist University in TN. I want to share part of it with you, for it spoke to me, and I pray it will speak to you too.

“He must increase, but I must decrease” ~ John 3:30 ~

How many times have we thought that we must be humble, that we need to humble ourselves so that Christ can live and grow in us? But can we truly humble ourselves? Is this what the verse says – I must decrease so that Christ can increase? No the verse shows us that Jesus must FIRST increase in us, and He will cause self to decrease in us. What is increasing in my life, in your life? Is it Jesus? We want to be good, to be like Him, but the truth is we can’t be good on our own. We can’t be humble in our own strength. And the wonderful thing is that Jesus doesn’t need to, nor want to wait for us to be good before He can be increased in our lives. He wants to be increased in us now, and He will take care of all our faults and shortcomings. He wants to be a sweet fragrance in us that attracts others to a knowledge of Him.

I want Jesus to be increased in me.

There is a story told of a little boy. He was a good little boy who enjoyed going to Sabbath School, saying his prayers, and memorizing his memory verses. When he prayed, he had been taught to ask Jesus to come and live inside of him. As he contemplated this he began to wonder how the great big Jesus could fit inside his small, young body. So he asked his father how big Jesus was. Father said that Jesus was bigger than he was. Thinking about this, the little boy replied saying, “If Jesus is living inside of me, because He is so big, He must always be sticking out of me.

I want Jesus to stick out of me, what about you?

Here’s some other pictures from that wonderful Sabbath

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

