Rejoice Always

At the beginning of December I was blessed to be able to return to Canada and spend Christmas with my Canadian family. It was my first experience with snow, and despite feeling cold almost all the time, I honestly love snow! Mostly the part where it is actually falling (not so cold then haha) I was surprised and a little disappointed to find that the snow, very practically, does not stay on the trees, and also that I didn’t get to experience any deep snow, but hey, I have to leave something for next time!

Tim reckons he will take my passport away… and fair enough, but I have snuck in one more short trip to Australia for my sisters wedding in September. It will be the first time the whole family will be together for around 8 years. I’m excited to meet my nephew, and the other added members of my family. If God makes a way, I also hope to take a couple of days and go to India to participate in Anna’s wedding later this year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I returned to Wat Preah Yesu just in time for midterm exams. After exams we said goodby to Anna, who headed back to the US to prepare for her upcoming wedding, and I took over her English 7B classes. Kim also returned to Germany, and a little bit later Marissa also returned to Australia. They are all greatly missed, but we look forward to having Marissa among us again eventually, God willing.

The new semester also brought us a change of students in HoofTrek. We now have 4 students from Gr. 7B on Tuesdays, and 5 students from Gr. 9 on Wednesdays. It has been a lot easier having less students at a time, and also having older students who understand more English. They are doing really well and Ely and I are really enjoying the classes.

Butterfly Paradise is on the rise. Slowly starting to take shape as more walls, paths and buildings go up. Tim is expecting to start planting out all the garden areas sometime soon.

We have had three new volunteers join us. God is do good to answer our prayers and send three to replace the three who left. Christel from Denmark, Jess from the US, and Ben, also from the States. The other Sabbath, we went to the Youth Camp land near Phnom Kulen, and hiked a little way up the mountain. It was very quiet and peaceful and we had a lovely afternoon.  On the way out, we somehow managed to get bogged in a swamp. It took two hours and two hand tractors to get the car out. Good fun had by all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Rejoice always, pray continuously, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.”

~ 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 ~

Leave a Reply

